Reference dossier / Money & markets

ReelShort and DramaBox price the same shows two different ways

Both apps list coin packs from $4.99 to $29.99 and a weekly subscription on their own store pages.

Visual for this record: ReelShort and DramaBox price the same shows two different ways
Visual published by yourappland.com, shown for identification of the record. Credit: yourappland.com. Source ↗ · Image record · Owner review pending.

What was announced or recorded

Two of the leading vertical-drama apps price their episodes through their own App Store listings. As retrieved on 16 September 2026, ReelShort's listing shows in-app purchases ranging from $4.99 to $29.99 alongside a $19.99 subscription; the app's own description states that the subscription bills weekly, activates within 24 hours of purchase, and renews automatically unless cancelled at least 24 hours before the period ends. DramaBox's listing shows three membership tiers ($19.99, $17.99, $5.99) and three 'special offer' tiers ($4.99, $9.99, $19.99), with a description stating that a membership 'unlocks all dramas' for its term.

What the documents establish

Both apps run two systems side by side: a subscription that unlocks the whole catalogue for a period, and one-time purchases priced in fixed dollar bands rather than a published per-episode rate. Neither listing states how many coins a purchase buys or how many coins one episode costs, so the price a viewer actually pays per episode cannot be worked out from the store page alone; only the entry price of each tier is public. ReelShort's own description adds that 'the actual price may vary by region', meaning the range documented here describes the US storefront only, not a fixed global price. Checking reelshort.com on the same date found no pricing displayed on the marketing site at all; it directs a visitor straight to the app download, which is where the priced listing above actually lives.

Announced versus delivered

What each store page states is a live price the developer has set and Apple currently displays; it is not a permanent published rate. ReelShort's description explicitly reserves the right to vary the figure by region, and DramaBox lists two different sets of tier labels, 'membership' and 'special offer', without saying whether either is time-limited. Apple's terms bind the developer to disclose auto-renewal and cancellation mechanics, which both apps do in their descriptions, but nothing here obliges either company to publish a stable coin-to-episode ratio, and neither has done so on the pages checked for this dossier.

What to watch

Editorially, the number worth tracking is not the sticker price but whether it changes: repeat checks of the same listing across a few weeks would show whether these bands are a fixed ladder or whether the app tests different tiers or regional prices, a pattern analysts elsewhere in this dossier associate with the format's pay-to-continue mechanic.

  • Does either app publish, anywhere a user can see before paying, how many episodes or minutes one coin purchase actually unlocks?
  • Do the listed prices change by storefront region, and if so, by how much?
  • Is the 'special offer' tier a standing price or an introductory one that later reverts?

A subscription price and a coin-pack price answer different questions: one buys time-limited access to everything, the other buys a fixed unlock. Reading the two together, rather than quoting either alone, is the only way a store listing like this can be used honestly.

Sources & evidence

ReelShort - Stream Drama & TV on the App Store ↗

apps.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • States ReelShort's in-app purchase price tiers ($4.99-$29.99) and $19.99 weekly subscription terms as listed.
DramaBox - Stream Drama Shorts on the App Store ↗

apps.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • States DramaBox's membership and special-offer price tiers as listed.
ReelShort homepage ↗

www.reelshort.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • Shows the marketing site displays no pricing and directs users to the app to unlock episodes, as retrieved.