Reference dossier / Money & markets

Apple and Google both take a cut of every coin pack sold

Their own fee pages set commission tiers a drama app cannot avoid once it collects a coin payment.

Visual published with the cited source for this record: Apple and Google both take a cut of every coin pack sold
Visual published with the cited source, shown for identification of the record. Credit: developer.apple.com. Source ↗ · Image record · Owner review pending.

What was announced or recorded

Coins are in-app purchases, so every coin pack a viewer buys passes through the operating system's store and its commission. Apple's own App Store Small Business Program page and Google's Google Play service-fee help page each set out, as retrieved on 16 September 2026, what the store keeps.

What the documents establish

Apple's page states a reduced commission of 15 percent 'on paid apps and in-app purchases' for developers enrolled in its Small Business Program, available to a developer whose associated accounts earned under $1,000,000 USD in total proceeds in the prior calendar year; in the European Union it separately names a 10 percent rate for developers on 'alternative terms' and for subscriptions after their first year. The page frames 15 percent as a reduced rate but does not restate the standard rate on the same page. Google's page is more explicit about its own tiers: for most markets, 15 percent applies to the first $1,000,000 USD a developer earns annually and 30 percent beyond that threshold, subscriptions carry a flat 15 percent regardless of revenue, and Google states a separate fee structure taking effect from 30 June 2026 for the EEA, UK and United States that splits a service fee from a billing fee depending on transaction type.

Announced versus delivered

What these pages govern is the store's own cut of a transaction the developer has already priced; neither document says anything about what a drama-app operator does with the remainder, how much of a coin pack becomes production budget, or whether an analyst's quoted in-app-purchase revenue for an app, discussed elsewhere in this dossier, is stated gross or net of this commission. That split is a business decision each operator makes privately, not something either store's fee page discloses.

What to watch

Editorially, Google's page naming both its reduced and standard rates on one page, against Apple's page naming only the reduced rate, is itself a useful pattern to watch: a store that discloses its full fee ladder in one place is easier for an outside reader to check than one that requires cross-referencing separate pages for the same figure.

  • Is a given analyst's quoted app revenue figure stated before or after the store's commission is deducted?
  • Which of the two stores' fee tiers would apply to a drama-app operator large enough to have passed the $1,000,000 annual threshold?
  • How would the fee structure Google describes as taking effect from 30 June 2026 change the net proceeds on the same coin pack?

A store's commission is not a footnote to a coin price; it is a fixed cost the developer pays on every purchase before anything is left for content, and the two fee pages read together show that the two dominant stores do not disclose that cost with the same clarity.

Sources & evidence

App Store Small Business Program ↗

developer.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • States the 15% reduced commission rate, the $1,000,000 eligibility threshold, and the EU 10% rate.
Service fees on Google Play - Play Console Help ↗

support.google.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • States Google Play's standard and reduced commission tiers and the new fee structure from 30 June 2026.