Reference dossier / Audience & data

A drama app's store listing discloses more than its rating

ReelShort's and DramaBox's own App Store listings show what a seller name, a price and a privacy label actually commit to.

Visual for this record: reading-an-app-store-listing-for-a-drama-app
Visual published by is1-ssl.mzstatic.com, shown for identification of the record. Credit: is1-ssl.mzstatic.com. Source ↗ · Image record · Owner review pending.

What was announced or recorded

As retrieved on 16 September 2026, the United States storefronts for two vertical-drama apps show what Apple requires a listing to carry. The ReelShort listing names the seller as New Leaf Publishing, Inc., prices the app at zero with in-app purchases running from 4.99 to 29.99 US dollars, and carries a 12+ age rating against 4.7 out of 5 from roughly 495,000 ratings. The DramaBox listing names the seller as Storymatrix Pte. Ltd., is also free with in-app purchases, and carries a stricter 17+ rating against 4.8 out of 5 from 854,063 ratings. Both listings include an App Privacy section built to the format Apple documents on its App Privacy Details page.

What the documents establish

The seller field is the clearest gap between marketing and record: neither storefront names “ReelShort” or “DramaBox” as the legal seller, only the corporate entity behind each. Apple’s privacy format separates three categories a developer declares: tracking data, data linked to identity, and data collected but not linked to identity. ReelShort discloses identifiers as tracking data, and lists user content, identifiers, usage data and device ID as linked to identity, holding diagnostics apart. DramaBox discloses a wider linked set — device and user ID, purchase history, user content and search history — while holding advertising data apart from identity. Apple’s own page states a developer must disclose “all of the data you or your third-party partners collect,” so the two lists differ in length because they describe different practices, not different template completeness.

Announced versus delivered

A store listing is not an audit. The rating aggregates every version an app has shipped since launch, so a high average can sit alongside a recent update no cited reviewer has yet rated. The privacy label is self-reported under Apple’s framework, not independently verified against the app’s code, and Apple’s own page notes that practices “may vary” by feature and age. The price and rating shown are specific to the United States storefront; ranges can differ on other storefronts running the same build. What each listing leaves to others is confirmation that declared practices match what the app actually sends.

What to watch

This is an editorial checklist, not a finding about either app’s conduct. A useful habit is recording the seller name, rating count and privacy categories on each retrieval date, since a version update can change any of the three without the marketing name changing at all.

  • Does the seller name on the listing match the entity named in the app’s own terms of service?
  • Has the age rating or the list of privacy categories changed between two retrieval dates for the same app?
  • Does the in-app purchase range shown on the listing match what the app actually charges once opened?

Neither listing claims to be complete, and neither should be read as one. A seller name, a rating count and a privacy category list describe a company’s declared practice on one storefront on one day — a starting point for checking a claim, not proof of it.

Sources & evidence

ReelShort - Stream Drama & TV on the App Store ↗

apps.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • Gives ReelShort's seller name, price, in-app purchase range, age rating, rating count and App Privacy categories.
DramaBox - Stream Drama Shorts on the App Store ↗

apps.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • Gives DramaBox's seller name, price, age rating, rating count and App Privacy categories for comparison.
App Privacy Details ↗

developer.apple.com · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026

  • States the three privacy-label categories and the developer's disclosure obligation that the two listings apply.