
What was announced or recorded
Quibi launched on 6 April 2020. The company's own promotional material, curated on its news page as archived days later, quoted a Vanity Fair headline naming the launch date, 'April 6,' about a month out. A day later, Quibi's own homepage, preserved by the Internet Archive after the live site began refusing automated requests, marked itself 'Available Now' with a 90-day free trial and plans 'starting at $4.99,' promoting Most Dangerous Game, a series starring Liam Hemsworth and Christoph Waltz, and a promise that video would stay framed to the screen regardless of how a phone was held.
What the documents establish
Quibi's underlying site data names that phone-rotation feature directly: an archived copy of the homepage's own content record stores it under the field name 'homepageTurnstyleModule,' with image files literally titled 'turnstyle-horizontal' and 'turnstyle-vertical' — the company's own internal name for what became publicly known as Turnstyle, confirmed here from the site's own data rather than from press description. On funding, Quibi's 2018 SEC Form D, filed under the entity name WCI One, LLC, reports a total amount sold of $1,000,000,000. A second Form D amendment, filed under Quibi Holdings, LLC in March 2020, reports a completed offering of $750,000,000. Together the two federal filings put $1.75 billion behind the launch, a figure that came from Quibi's own disclosures to regulators rather than from a press estimate.
Announced versus delivered
What was announced was a subscription service built around short, high-production shows and a named-talent slate, backed by capital the company itself confirmed to the SEC rather than merely implied to reporters. What was delivered, as of launch week, matched that description closely: the homepage and the Vanity Fair-sourced press clip Quibi chose to feature both point to the same 6 April date, and the free-trial pricing and Turnstyle-branded rotation feature were live rather than promised. What is deliberately absent from this account is any judgment about audience size or commercial performance, since no document opened for this dossier states subscriber or revenue figures for the launch period, and the closure that followed is treated separately.
What to watch
Editorially: a funding total assembled from two separate SEC filings is stronger evidence than a headline figure repeated without a source, and a feature's internal codename in a company's own site data is a different, often better, kind of proof than a marketing name alone.
- Does a reported funding total come from a filing, and does it cover one round or a sum of several?
- Is a branded feature name confirmed by the company's own materials, or assumed from how the press described it?
- Does a launch-week source describe what shipped, or what was still only promised for later?
Quibi's launch is unusually well documented for a company that later tried to disappear from the open web: its own SEC filings fix the funding, and its own archived pages fix the date, the pricing and the feature its own data names Turnstyle.
Sources & evidence
www.sec.gov · Official source
Source date: 14 Aug 2018 · Checked: 16 Sept 2026
- Reports a total amount sold of $1,000,000,000 under the entity that became Quibi, ahead of its 2020 launch.
www.sec.gov · Official source
Source date: 6 Mar 2020 · Checked: 16 Sept 2026
- Reports a completed $750,000,000 offering by Quibi Holdings, LLC shortly before launch.
web.archive.org · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026
- Quibi's own homepage the day after launch, showing pricing, named talent and the rotate-to-fit feature description.
web.archive.org · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026
- Quibi's own curated press page quotes a Vanity Fair headline confirming the 6 April 2020 launch date.
web.archive.org · Official source
Source date: Not stated by source · Checked: 16 Sept 2026
- Site data names the phone-rotation feature 'homepageTurnstyleModule' with 'turnstyle' image filenames, the company's own internal name for Turnstyle.